OUTFIT POST: GIRLY BUT GRUNGE

This is one of my favourite outfits to wear because I feel like a massive baddie when I am in it. Of course I don’t wear 7 inch platforms to college, especially with fishnets, wouldn’t want to get anyone pregnant, haha. What I usually do is wear it with black boots and knee high socks (over the fish nets) just to tone it down a bit. For the most part, people will have something to say no matter what you do, so I try to disregard opinions as much as I can, but at the same time, there’s a time and place and I understand that.

FullSizeRender (3)

The tights look like stockings here because they ripped (thick thigh problems) but this kind of added to the grunge vibe. Eventually, the fishnets had to be disposed of because they were too far gone, but I usually just wear laddered tights because I love the whole ‘messy perfectionist’ aesthetic. I wouldn’t wear any jewellery with this look because I think a lot is already going on, and personally I feel like adding too much to an ‘out there’ outfit can quickly make you look like you’re wearing a costume or just trying TOO hard to be edgy.

I spent a shocking £3 on this outfit because the..

  • Playsuit, T-shirt and Tights were £1 EACH at my favourite Thrift shop
  • Army style jacket used to be my mum’s. she brought it from Next, but you can find a more affordable one here. Buy it at least 2 sizes bigger than you need, for the oversized shirt look.
  • Pink wedges are by a brand called Lotus Hallmark, and there are a few exact pairs on eBay at the moment. But if you want something very similar and more affordable, check this out.

I could have had to spend roughly around £100+ on this outfit (mainly on the shoes) and for that, I am pretty grateful.

I really recommend for you to go out and look in all of the thrift or charity shops in your area. There are so many £1 outlet shops here in Hertfordshire, so I am sure you will find something eventually.

Next week, I will have a winter themed lookbook, in which I will show 3 ways to wear faux fur this winter!

Stay tuned, stay inspired,

Hillz.

Leave a Reply

