HOW I DO IT: HEADWRAPS

So I wear my hair in braids whilst I wait for my dreadlocks to grow, but there are some days where I like to switch it up and wrap up my hair. My scarf collection is ridiculous, but I have picked a few of my favourites so I can show you a few different ways that I like to wrap up my hair. Some of these are quite common, but I have a few looks that I kind of freestyle sometimes.

TURBAN 

This is probably the most common and obvious use of a headwrap. Because I have so much hair, I tie it all up in a pair of tights to keep it flat and even.

FullSizeRender

I then take my scarf and place it on my head, making sure it is even on both sides.

FullSizeRender

I then tie it at the back, bring the fabric to the front of my head and tie it again.

FullSizeRender

After this, I take the two ends of the scarf to the back of my head again, tie them and tuck the rest of the scarf back into itself. You can also use pins, but I personally don’t.

FullSizeRender

TURBAN WITH HAIR DOWN

After sectioning my hair into two halves, I take my scarf and place it on my head like I did with the first look.

FullSizeRender

 I tie the scarf once at the front, making sure everything is neat and the scarf is covering my head properly.

FullSizeRender

I then twist the two lengths around each other to form them into one.

FullSizeRender

I then twist this twisted  length of fabric onto itself and it naturally forms a round bun shape at the centre of my head. I tuck the end of it into itself.

FullSizeRender

SCARF BRAID

I start by putting all of my hair to one side. I always use my left side because my right side is shaved and I want my (not so) fresh trim to show.

FullSizeRender

I section the hair into 3, making sure I have 2 equal sections and 1 smaller section. The smaller section should be the middle section. Because we will be adding a scarf to this part, it needs to be smaller. Using the scarf, I braid the smaller section. I do this by folding the scarf in half, then using the section of hair as the third element for the braid.

FullSizeRender

I then braid the two other sections and the braided part together to form my braid within a braid. I make sure to tie the scarf and my hair together at the end so that it doesn’t all unravel.

FullSizeRenderFullSizeRender

BOW

I give myself a middle parting again and fold the scarf to my desired thickness. This scarf is pretty small, so I only had to fold it in half. It is also quite short so is perfect for this look. I tie it once at the front of my head, ensuring that the fabric is equal on both sides of the knot. The top of my head should be showing.

FullSizeRender

I then take one end of the scarf and tuck the end under the opposite side. Do the same on both sides, obviously. Tying an actual bow with a scarf would result in you having a droopy bow that is constantly in your face so this works better, in my opinion.

FullSizeRender

I then adjust the bow by pulling and fluffing up the tucked fabric.

FullSizeRender FullSizeRender

You can add pins or a broach to your bow for decoration as well as to keep it secure, or just keep it as it is.

FullSizeRender

BECAUSE I ALWAYS LOSE MY ALICE BANDS.

This is probably the easiest one. Push all your hair back and then fold your scarf to your desired width.

FullSizeRender

Place the scarf on your forehead, take the ends behind and under your hair, take it to the front again. Finally
tie it under your hair. Literally, that’s it. Simple but effective.

FullSizeRender

BECAUSE I LIKE BEANIES BUT THEY AREN’T ALWAYS PART OF THE DRESS CODE

For this I start by putting my hair in my tights again. Only difference is this time I leave a few strands out at the front. I want to create the beanie shape, so I let my hair and gravity pull down on the tights a bit.

FullSizeRender

I then take my scarf and tie it around my head using the WIDTH and not the length. If you ever pretended to be a bride or rapunzel as a kid, you will get what I mean.FullSizeRender
Without pulling too hard, I wrap the scarf around itself and tuck it up at the bottom of my head.

FullSizeRender

That’s all, (for now) folks! Hopefully There’s something here for you. If not, there will definately for more posts about my headscarves and hairstyles in the future.

Stay tuned, stay inspired,

Hillz.

Leave a Reply

