HOW I DO IT: STYLING FOR SHORT HAIR, SIDE CUT AND DREADS.

One of my Bucket list/goals for this year was to embrace my natural hair.

I had my hair crocheted into dreadlocks about 3 years ago but have been wearing protective styles over them in order to, well, protect them.

They started off just above ear length and are now shoulder length with the curl, and touch the top of my boobs when I pull my hair…

I also have a side cut on my right side, so it is hard to find people who have similar hair to me that I can take some inspiration from. I decided to be that person and put together a few of my natural hair styles.


LOOK 1 -PINEAPPLE

I do my high ponytails by standing with my head facing down and then I take a strip of fabric and tie it around my hair, Cinderella style. I then stand up straight and let the hair fall, hence the pineapple. I tie a scarf around the circumference of my head because it makes my head look less like an actual balloon.


LOOK 2 – BASIC BUN

Since last year was the year of the bun, I’m pretty sure everyone knows how to do this. I just do the same pineapple thing but then I tuck my hair back into itself. It is so thick that I do not need bobby pins or anything like that to keep it in place.


LOOK 3 – TURBAN WITH FAUX FRINGE.

Do the Pineapple thing again, but then push all your hair to the front. Then wrap the scarf over your head, leaving the hair at the front exposed. The more hair you leave out, the bigger your fringe will look.


LOOK 4 -I WOKE UP LIKE THIS TBH

A pro of having dreads is that I never ever have to brush my hair, if I want to, I can just whip my hair into place.


LOOK 5 – RAMBO

Basically, this is the previous style with a bandana tied across my forehead. Edgy.

 


LOOK 6 – SLIIIIIIIDE TO THE LEFT

For this, I slide all my hair to the left side (because my side cut is on the right) and I tie my hair into small ponytails on the bottom/lower layers of hair to add volume. I finish it off with an alice band, or in this case, a gold necklace that I pin onto the hidden ponytails.


That’s all for now, I will probably do another post when I have a few more ideas. Hopefully this was a bit helpful, though.

See you in a week,

Hillz 

Leave a Reply

